Regulations and Laws on Military Draft Registration (Selective Service) by State
Driver’s License Linked to Registration? Yes, must be registered to receive license, permit, or identification card.
Registration Linked to Access to Higher Education? Yes, must be registered to receive state financial aid.
Registration Required for State Employment? Yes, must be registered for state employment.
In 2001, HB 213 created a requirement for every male under the age of 26 who applies for a driver’s license, learner’s permit, or identification card to be registered with the SSS. Submission of the application is consent for the state to forward any relevant information to the SSS; any male under the age of 18 will be automatically registered on his 18th birthday. (Mississippi Code of 1972; 63-1-19, 45-35-7, and 63-1-210.) Male applicants for a job or a promotion with the Mississippi state government between the ages of 18 and 26 must be registered. (Mississippi Code of 1972; 25-9-127 and 25-9-351.) Draft registration is required of males over 18 years and 6 months to receive any postsecondary educational financial aid or loans. (Mississippi Code of 1972 37-101-283.)