Regulations and Laws on Military Draft Registration (Selective Service) by State
Driver’s License Linked to Registration? Yes, must be registered to receive license.
Registration Linked to Access to Higher Education? Yes, must be registered to receive state financial aid.
Registration Required for State Employment? Yes, must be registered for state employment.
In 2002, the state legislature passed a bill that created the option to register when applying for a driver’s license. However, in 2003 a new bill was passed (HB 2293) that any male under the age of 26 applying for a license or “nonoperating identification license” will be registered with the SSS and relevant information will be forwarded electronically to the SSS. As licenses are attainable in Arizona at age 16, the Motor Vehicle Department will store registration information until the applicant turns 17 years and 11 months old, at which time the MVD will send the information to SSS. Applications will contain these words, “By submitting this application, I consent to registration with the selective service system if I am required to register under federal law. If I am under eighteen years of age, I understand that I will be registered as required by federal law when I become eighteen years of age.” So while those 18 or over are “consenting,” those under 18 are simply informed that they will be registered. (Arizona Statute 28-3168). Arizona Statute 15-1841 requires males between the ages of 18 and 26 to register in order to receive state financial aid for higher education. Arizona Statute 38-201 requires males between the ages of 18 and 26 to register for employment with the state.